TAIPEI CITY, TAIWAN (August 25, 2017) - The Development Women's National Team fell to Chinese Taipei Friday evening in the quarter-finals of the 29th Summer Universiade in Taipei City, Taiwan.

Paige Crozon, Alex Kiss-Rusk and Alison Keough each had a team-high 10 points, while Jaelyne Kirkpatick added nine points.  Abigail Fogg controlled the glass at both ends of the court and finished with a game-high 13 rebounds.

Click here for the box score.

Trailing by just one point after the first quarter, Canada found themselves trailing 35-29 at halftime.  With a rowdy home crowd behind them, Chinese Taipei outscored Canada 21-17 in the third quarter to take a 10-point lead into the final frame.  Despite outscoring the hosts in the fourth, it wasn't enough for Canada to complete the comeback.

Click here for the full team roster.


"Really pleased with the second half resilience we showed.  Battled back from down 15 and cut it to three and just couldn't seal the deal.  Once again turnovers were our Achilles and we missed twelve bunnies at the rim or around the rim.  If we convert those it's a whole different basketball game.  We had some tough luck in spurts but really pleased with how hard we played for most of the game and how we battled as a unit." - Fabian McKenzie, Head Coach

"That was a tough loss for us all around but I'm really proud of how some players came in and really made a difference and contributed and played really hard.  We're going to move forward and try to get the fifth place finish in the Universiade Games. " - Paige Crozon


With the loss, Canada will now face the United States of America on Saturday at 5:30 AM ET in the classification round (Places 5th-8th). Follow Canada Basketball on Twitter for score updates. Click here for the complete tournament schedule.


For more information, contact:

Matt Walker,

About the 2017 Summer Universiade

The Summer Universiade is a biennial international multi-sport event open to competitors who are at least 17 and less than 28 years of age as of January 1 in the year of the Games. Participants must be full-time students at a post-secondary institution (university, college, CEGEP) or have graduated from a post-secondary institution in the year preceding the event.