Canada Basketball Executive Director Michele O'Keefe elected to FIBA Central board.


SEVILLA - Delegates from the 116 national federations in attendance at the FIBA World Congress on Thursday elected 12 of the potential 29 members that will make up the Central Board for the 2014-2019 term of office.

Horacio Muratore, who succeeds Yvan Mainini in becoming the new President of FIBA, was elected by acclamation.

He will be joined on the Central Board by the following elected members:

 - Anibal Manave (MOZ) and Clotaire Celestine Adjanohoun (BEN) of FIBA Africa

- Jim Tooley (USA), Michele O'Keefe (CAN) and Marcelo Bedoya (PAR) of FIBA Americas

- Tian Xiao (CHN) of FIBA Asia

- Jose Luis-Saez (ESP), Cyriel Coomans (BEL), Lena Wallin-Kantzy (SWE) and Jean-Pierre Siutat (FRA) of FIBA Europe

- Scott Derwin (AUS) and Deborah K Shoniber (MIS) of FIBA Oceania

They join the presidents of FIBA's five continental zone: Hamane Niang (MLI) of Africa, Usie Richards (USV) of the Americas, Sheikh Saud Bin Ali Al-Thani (QAT) of Asia, Turgay Demirel (TUR) of Europe and Burton Shipley (NZL) of Oceania.

Ingo Weiss will take over as FIBA Treasurer from the outgoing Manfred Stroher, who retires after more than 40 years of loyal service to FIBA.

The newly-appointed Central Board will meet for the first time on Saturday 13 September in Madrid, on the occasion of the final weekend of the FIBA Basketball World Cup.

One of the main items on the agenda will be to appoint the NBA representative and players representative. The Board may also co-opt six additional members.