FAQS

How do I sign up for SNYB?

Registration for SNYB is done through the local Host Organization. Click here to find an SNYB program in your community, and contact your local Coordinator to learn more!

 

What is the age range for SNYB?

The typical age range for SNYB is 7-12 years old. However as age is not the best way to categorize developing players (described in the LTAD Model) the SNYB curriculum is deigned to accommodate a range of player ages and abilities. For more information on the LTAD Model and its guidelines click here.  

 

How do I host a SNYB program?

SNYB offers groups a turnkey program that is simple and easy to launch and deliver thanks to the resources, materials, and support provided to hosts. To learn how to host an SNYB program in your community click here!  

 

How do I become a SNYB coach?

Anyone who wants to work with young atheltes can be a volunteer coach with SNYB - no basketball experience required! SNYB coaches have the opportunity to receive NCCP FUNdamentals coach training, and are provided with the full SNYB Curriculum and supporting coach resources. Click here to find an SNYB program in your community, and contact a local Coordinator or your provincial/territorial basketball organization to learn more!

 

What do players learn in SNYB?

SNYB coaches players in the fundamental movement and sport skills for the game of basketball, including footwork, ball handling, passing, shooting, rebounding, and basic offensive and defensive concepts. SNYB is also committed to developing well-rounded youth athletes, highlighting life skills like communication, leadership, and goal setting in the curriculum.

 

What is the cost to join SNYB?

The cost to join SNYB varies across provinces, communities, and Host Organizations due to varied facility, administrative, liability, equipment, and staffing costs associated with the local program.

 

What is the relationship with Tangerine?

SNYB is proud to team up with Tangerine Bank as the Presenting Partner of SNYB.  Tangerine's #BrightWayForward initiative provides financial resources and volunteer hours to help effectively deliver community programs like SNYB, empowering young Canadians through the sport of basketball.
 
Tangerine's partnership adds considerable value to SNYB, providing resources and support, helping to introduce SNYB to new communities, and enriching program offerings for participating clubs. In addition, the Tangerine #KidoftheWeek initiative recognizes young athletes who demonstrate the values of empowerment, teamwork, and inclusiveness.

QUESTIONS FRÉQUENTES

+ Comment je m’inscris au BJSN ?

L’inscription au BJSN se fait par l’entremise de l’organisme hôte. Cliquez ici pour trouver un programme du BJSN dans votre communauté et communiquez avec votre coordonnateur local pour en apprendre plus !

+ Quel est le groupe d’âge du BSJN ?

L’étendue typique des âges au BSJN est de 7 à 12 ans. Cependant, l’âge n’étant pas la meilleure façon de catégoriser les joueurs en développement tel que décrit dans le modèle du DLTA, le cursus de BSJN est préparé pour accommoder une variété d’âges et d’habiletés. Pour plus d’informations concernant le modèle du DLTA et ses grandes lignes directrices, cliquez ici.  

+ Comment j’accueille un programme du BSJN ?

Le BJSN offre un programme clef-en-main qui est simple, facile à lancer et à diffuser grâce aux ressources, au matériel et à l’appui fourni aux hôtes. Pour apprendre comment accueillir un programme du BJSN dans votre communauté, cliquez ici!  

+ Comment puis-je devenir un entraîneur du BJSN ?

Toute personne qui désire travailler avec des jeunes athlètes peut être un entraîneur bénévole au sein du BJSN - aucune expérience en basketball n’est requise ! Les entraîneurs du BSJN ont la possibilité de suivre une formation spécifique au BJSN, reçoivent le curriculum complet du BJSN et les ressources d’appuis aux entraîneurs. Cliquez ici pour trouver un programme du BJSN dans votre communauté et communiquez un coordonnateur local ou encore votre organisme provincial ou territorial de basketball pour en savoir plus.
 
+ Qu’est-ce que les joueurs apprennent au BJSN ?
 
Le BJSN enseigne aux joueurs les mouvements et les habiletés de base du basketball, y compris les jeux de pieds, le maniement du ballon, les passes, les lancers, les rebonds et les concepts primaires d’offensive et de défensive. Le BSJN est aussi engagé à développer des jeunes athlètes complets en mettant en vedette des habiletés de vie telles que la communication, le leadership et la détermination d’objectifs dans le cadre du programme.

+ Quel est le coût du BJSN ?

Les frais d’inscription au BJSN varient selon les provinces, les communautés et les organismes hôtes en raison des coûts reliés aux locations des facilités, de l’administration, de l’assurance responsabilité et du personnel associés au programme local.

+ Quelle est la relation avec Tangerine ?

Le BJSN est fier de s’associer avec Banque Tangerine qui agit de partenaire présentateur du BJSN. L’initiative #BrightWayForward de Tangerine offre des ressources financières et des heures de bénévolat pour aider efficacement à livrer des programmes communautaires tels que le BJSN, aidant ainsi les jeunes Canadiens à l’aide du sport de basketball.