Photo Couresy of:

Canada basketball
Canada Basketball

Canada Basketball now accepting nominees for the Canadian Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2023



Dec 12, 2022

TORONTO, ON (December 12, 2022) - Canada Basketball is pleased to announce that nominations for the Canadian Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2023 are now being accepted.

Click here to submit a nomination to the Canadian Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2023 today.

The deadline for nominations is January 16, 2023, with inductees and induction details to be announced in early 2023.

The Canadian Basketball Hall of Fame recognizes, honours, immortalizes, and enshrines the contributions of a diverse group of people to the development and advancement of basketball in Canada or internationally. Inductees to the Hall of Fame are awarded annually.  

Since 1978, the Canadian Basketball Hall of Fame has recognized and celebrated those who have contributed to the development and enhancement of basketball both in Canada and internationally.

The Canadian Basketball Hall of Fame induction ceremony will once again take place this summer as part of GLOBL JAM, a week-long celebration of basketball, community, and culture in downtown Toronto.

Subject to the nomination criteria, any person is eligible for election as an Honoured Member of the Canadian Basketball Hall of Fame who has achieved an outstanding record of excellence, in the following categories:


Athletes are individuals who, while Canadian citizens, have participated as a player at an elite level and have achieved outstanding and extraordinary success as a player in the sport of basketball at the amateur and/or professional level.


Teams are made up of athletes who represent Canada, a province, a municipality or a Canadian organization or corporation that have accomplished outstanding or extraordinary results nationally and/or internationally that has brought prominence to the sport of basketball in Canada.


Coaches are individuals whose tireless efforts and expertise in the development and training of basketball athletes has made an outstanding and extraordinary contribution to the sport of basketball in Canada and/or internationally.


Officials are individuals who have exhibited outstanding and extraordinary skill and expertise as referees, as evidenced by their participation at an elite level of competition, nationally and/or internationally.


Builders are individuals who have made outstanding and extraordinary contributions towards the promotion, development and advancement of basketball in Canada, and without restricting the generality of the foregoing may include administrators, officials, trainers, managers, coaches and doctors.  Such contributions should be national in scope. Builders of officiating are individuals who have contributed significantly to the advancement of officiating, including but not limited to training and development of basketball officials in a national and / or international capacity.

Additional category specific criteria can be found here.

Nominations will be accepted from the Canada Basketball Board of Directors, Canada Basketball Class A or Class B members in good standing, Canada Basketball Hall of Fame Selection panel or Veterans Committee members and/or general public.

All nominees must be a Canadian citizen, or a resident of Canada for a minimum of three years, or born in Canada, or made their distinguished contribution to the game of basketball in Canada.

Canada Basketball encourages nominations for all qualified individuals and teams. The organization is committed to equity and diversity and welcomes nominations for women, visible minorities, Aboriginal Peoples, persons with disabilities, and persons of any sexual orientation or gender identity.

Following a two-year hiatus due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Canadian Basketball Hall of Fame resumed inductions earlier this year as Stewart Granger (Player), Steve Nash (Player) and Angela (Johnson) Straub (Player), along with Michèle Bélanger (Coach), John Bitove (Builder), Rick Fox (Player), and Tony Simms (Player) were inducted for the classes of 2021 and 2022, respectively.

The nomination form is available here. For more information and nomination requirements, click here.