Verification Program

Canada Basketball Verification Program

The Canada Basketball Verification Program is available to all basketball clubs, associations, and community groups across the nation. The program raises standards to guide all associations across Canada towards best principles and practices for organizational development. The Verification Program integrates important aspects of coaching, Safe Sport, and organizational leadership. Becoming Canada Basketball Verified encourages basketball providers to add accountability to their mandates and provides a welcoming, safe, and developmentally appropriate environment for all players and members.

Click here to apply.

The Canada Basketball Verification Program is designed for everyone providing basketball opportunities for players in Canada. The program is founded on three pillars of success:

  • Safe Sport & EDI (Equity, Diversity, & Inclusion)

  • Technical Skills

  • Governance & Administration

These pillars have been established as the foundational standards for all Verified organizations. Athletes, parents, coaches, officials, and organizers can have confidence their Verified organization’s alignment with best practices for basketball programming in Canada.

Verified programs are recognized for being leaders in Safe Sport, as well as their commitment to excellence and best practices. Aligning these best practices across our country will allow us all to drive positive changes and provide the best basketball experience possible for our members.

Benefits to your Organization and Your Members

As a Verified organization, your club/association and its members will receive benefits that will help provide the best experience for all participants. Benefits include:

Verified Organizations

The organizations listed below have all been Verified by both Canada Basketball and their local Provincial/Territorial Sport Organization. Each group has committed to raise standards to provide the best athlete experience for all participants, including:

  • Mandating background checks and Safe Sport Training for all coaches

  • Adopting a full policy suite of guidelines that help protect the safety of all participants

  • Adhering to Canada Basketball’s model for Long Term Development, including age and developmentally appropriate training

  • Ensuring proper administrative procedures and measures have been taken to govern their organization

No items found.

Attack Basketball

Winnipeg, Manitoba

Website
No items found.
No items found.
No items found.
No items found.
No items found.
No items found.
No items found.
No items found.

Requirements

Canada Basketball, in partnership with the provincial/territorial sport organizations, has developed a set of minimum standards to enhance the delivery of basketball for all organizations across Canada. The graphic below explains the simple process each organization can take to become Verified. Free resources and guidance will be provided throughout the Verification process.

All Verified Programs must ensure they are following these best practices to help enhance organizational structure and overall participant experience. Click on each pillar below to learn more about the requirements to become Verified, understand the associated benefits, and explore how we can help your group in the process.

Safe Sport & EDI encompasses the awareness and action taken to ensure sport is safe and inclusive. This involves reporting maltreatment of athletes, background screening, and recognizing social issues such as diversity, inclusion, gender equity, and assisting athletes with financial barriers to participation.

Safe Sport is a multi-faceted model that aims to develop and foster sport environments that are safe for all participants at all ages and levels of competition. Safe Sport’s objective is to ensure greater sport participation at all levels by creating, maintaining, and promoting a sport culture and environment that is empowering, positive, inclusive, and equitable for all participants. Notably, an environment that is free from abuse, harassment, and discrimination.

Click How to Apply for more information and a detailed description of all requirements.

The Technical Skills pillar addresses on court programming, and ensures the alignment of athlete and coaching pathways. This includes developmentally appropriate skills for athletes, coach education, and overall Long-Term Athlete Development (LTAD).

The Canada Basketball LTAD Model is athlete centered, coach driven, and founded in sport science. The LTAD comprises a framework of athlete development with special attention to growth, maturation, and physical and mental development.

Click How to Apply for more information and a detailed description of all requirements.

Governance & Administration encompasses the policies, processes, systems, and controls by which the organization is run. In general, this provides strategic leadership and assisted decision-making to achieve the vision of the organization while managing staff, volunteers, and financial resources.

Administrative procedures help with record keeping, long-term stability, and risk management. All Verified organizations will be supported by a foundation of proper governance to give both organizations and their participants the confidence in their future successes.

Click How to Apply for more information and a detailed description of all requirements.

How to Apply

To start your application to have your organization become Canada Basketball Verified, please fill out and submit the following form.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does the program only apply to basketball “clubs”?

  • No. All clubs, associations, community groups, and organized basketball groups in Canada can become Canada Basketball Verified. This program helps unify the basketball ecosystem in our country and everyone is encouraged to join.

My association is small and run only by volunteers, where does it fit?

  • Even small groups are encouraged to be Verified. The requirements are not designed to focus on large clubs, but rather what you offer your participants through programming. All organizations will receive and have access to the benefits of being Canada Basketball Verified.

Why is Canada Basketball developing and implementing a Verification Program?

  • The popularity and growth of basketball in Canada has been rapidly expanding and all basketball organizations play a vital role in supporting this. By raising standards and creating a unified system across the country, we have the potential to build a world class environment for the development of our players, coaches, officials, and volunteers.

Why should my organization want to be a part of the Verification Program?

  • When you are verified with Canada Basketball and your PTSO, you are demonstrating to your participants and your community that your association follows high standards of participant safety and proper athlete training pathways. In addition, you will have access to a number of ongoing benefits that will continue to grow as more groups become verified.

How did Canada Basketball arrive at the requirements that are included in the Verification Program?

  • In collaboration with the Provincial/Territorial Sport Organizations, Canada Basketball formed a working group to review and build out the framework for the Pillars of Success and required criteria for the Verification Program. Following best practices of the Long-Term Athlete Development Model and participant safety, the final criteria have been developed to outline what all groups must accomplish in order to meet minimum standards that will help raise the level of the game nationwide.

Is it expected that my organization meets all of the criteria at the time of application?

  • No. We understand that while some criteria can be submitted immediately, other criteria may take some time to achieve. We are happy to work with you to guide you through the process of achieving these best practices.

What resources will be available to support my organization to meet the requirements of the Verification Program?

  • Canada Basketball has developed a thorough information manual to support all groups as they work to meet the requirements to be verified. This manual explains, in detail, the requirements what you will need in order to fulfill that requirement. Canada Basketball will also provide templates for policies (e.g. By-Laws, Athlete Protection Guidelines, etc.) that you can use for your own organization.

Who will review the applications?

  • Canada Basketball, in partnership with your Provincial/Territorial Sport Organization, will review all applications to verify the organization has met the minimum standards to provide an inclusive, safe, and developmentally appropriate basketball experience for all participants

Programme de vérification

Programme de vérification de Canada Basketball

Le Programme de vérification de Canada Basketball est à la disposition de tous les clubs, associations et groupes communautaires liés au basketball dans toute la nation. Ce programme élève les normes pour aider toutes les associations à travers le Canada à adopter les meilleurs principes et les meilleures pratiques du développement organisationnel. Le programme de vérification intègre les aspects importants de l’encadrement, du sport sécuritaire et du leadership organisationnel. Devenir Vérifié Canada Basketball encourage les parties prenantes du basketball à ajouter des responsabilités à leur mandat en offrant un environnement de développement approprié, accueillant et sûr à tous les joueurs et à leurs membres.

Cliquez ici pour postuler

Le programme de vérification de Canada Basketball a été conçu pour toutes celles et ceux qui donnent des opportunités de basketball aux joueurs au Canada. Le programme est basé sur trois piliers de réussite:

  • Sport sécuritaire & EDI (Équité, Diversité & Inclusion)

  • Compétences techniques

  • Gouvernance & Administration

Ces piliers forment la base des critères que toutes les organisations vérifiées doivent remplir. En plus de cela, les athlètes, les parents, les entraîneurs, les officiels et les organisateurs peuvent être sûrs que leur organisation est en phase avec les meilleures pratiques des programmes de basketball au Canada.

Les programmes vérifiés sont reconnus pour être des leaders en matière de sport sécuritaire, ainsi que pour leur engagement envers l’excellence et les meilleures pratiques. Adopter ces meilleures pratiques dans tout notre pays nous permettra d’accomplir des changements positifs et de donner la meilleure expérience possible en matière de basketball à nos membres.

Les avantages pour votre organisation et pour vos membres

En tant qu’organisation vérifiée, votre club/association et ses membres recevront de nombreux avantages qui aideront votre programme à donner la meilleure expérience possible à tous les participants. Ces avantages incluent:

Organisations vérifiées

Les organisations listées ci-dessous ont toutes été vérifiées à la fois par Canada Basketball et leur organisme de sport provincial/territorial local. Chaque groupe s’est engagé à élever leurs normes en donnant la meilleure expérience d’athlète à tous les participants. Cela comprend:

  • La mise en place de vérifications d’antécédents et de formation en sport sécuritaire pour tous les entraîneurs

  • L’adoption d’une série de politiques comprenant des directives qui aident à protéger la sécurité de tous les participants

  • L’adhésion au modèle de Développement à long terme de Canada Basketball, y compris un entraînement approprié au niveau du développement

  • S’assurer que les bonnes procédures et mesures administratives ont été prises pour gouverner leur organisation

Free Play for Kids

Edmonton, AB

Website

Red Deer Minor Basketball Association (RDMBA)

Red Deer, AB

Website

Supreme Hoops Canada

Calgary, AB

Website

DALLUYON Basketball

Edmonton, AB

Website

Buckets Basketball School

Edmonton, AB

Website

GOOD Hoops

Edmonton, AB

Website

Legacy Athletics

Edmonton, AB

Website

Brodie Rec League

Calgary, AB

Website

HYPE Hoops Basketball Club

Red Deer, AB

Website

DT Elite Basketball

Red Deer, AB

Website

Altitude Basketball Club

Edmonton, AB

Website

West Elite Basketball Association

Edmonton, AB

Website

Backyard Basketball Academy

Leduc, AB

Website

N.W. Sports Club Society

North Vancouver, BC

Website

The Vancouver Basketball Foundation

Vancouver, BC

Website

Brodie Rec League

Victoria, BC

Website

New West Elite Basketball

New Westminster, BC

Website

Jump Play Learn Canada

Burnaby, BC

Website

Crossover Basketball Club

Winnipeg, MB

Website

Attack Basketball

Winnipeg, MB

Website

Mini Ballers

Winnipeg, MB

Website
No items found.

Paradise Minor Basketball

Paradise, NL

Website

St. John's Minor Basketball

St. John's, NL

Website

Halifax Hurricanes

Halifax, NS

Website

South Shore Lightning Basketball Association

Hebbville, NS

Website

AXE Basketball

Wolfville, NS

Website
No items found.

Burloak Basketball

Burlington, ON

Website

Ball905 Youth Foundation

Mississauga, ON

Website

Momentum Sports Association

Toronto, ON

Website

The Factory Basketball Academy

Brantford, ON

Website

Results System Basketball

Brampton, ON

Website

Stratford Basketball Association

Stratford, ON

Website

Temiskaming Thunder

New Liskeard, ON

Website

Excel Hoops Training Institute

Mississauga, ON

Website

iBall Canada

Toronto, ON

Website

17 Basketball Club

Toronto, ON

Website

Golden Eagles Basketball Academy

Mississauga, ON

Website

NuStep Athletic Association

Toronto, ON

Website

YAAACE

Toronto, ON

Website

Brodie Rec League

Toronto et Ottawa, ON

Website

Lay-Up Youth Basketball

Toronto, ON

Website

London Royals

London, ON

Website

Malton Sting Basketball Club

Malton, ON

Website

V3 Basketball Association

Scarborough, ON

Website

Purpose Driven Mentality (PDM) Basketball

Oakville, ON

Website

GTA Mavericks Basketball Association

Vaughan, ON

Website

STAC Basketball

Hamilton, ON

Website

Royal City Basketball Club

Guelph, ON

Website

Kitchener Impact Academy

Kitchener, ON

Website

Milton Stags

Milton, ON

Website

Nepean Blue Devils

Nepean, ON

Website

Jump Thru Hoops

Toronto, ON

Website

Teach and Ball

Brampton, ON

Website

Huntsville Hurricanes

Huntsville, ON

Website

Brampton Minor Basketball Association

Brampton, ON

Website

East York Basketball Club

Toronto, ON

Website

Collège Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes

Montreal, QC

Website

Misfits Basketball Club

Regina, SK

Website

Regina Ballers

Regina, SK

Website

Greenwave United

Saskatoon, SK

Website

Wolfpack Basketball

Whitehorse, YK

Website

Exigences

Canada Basketball, en partenariat avec les organismes de sport provinciaux/territoriaux, a développé une série de normes minimales qui visent à améliorer la gestion des programmes de basketball pour toutes les organisations à travers le Canada. Le graphique ci-dessous explique le processus simple que chaque organisation peut suivre pour devenir vérifiée. On vous donnera des ressources gratuites ainsi que des conseils pendant le processus de vérification.

Tous les programmes vérifiés doivent veiller à bien suivre ces meilleures pratiques afin d’aider à améliorer la structure de l’organisation et la participation globale de ses participants. Cliquez sur chaque pilier ci-dessous pour en savoir plus sur ce qu’il faut faire pour devenir vérifié et sur la façon dont nous pouvons aider votre groupe à naviguer dans ce processus.

Le sport sécuritaire & l’EDI comprennent la prise de conscience et les mesures prises pour garantir un sport sûr et inclusif. Cela comprend la reconnaissance et le signalement du mauvais traitement des athlètes, la vérification des antécédents et les problèmes sociaux tels que la diversité, l’inclusion, l’équité des genres et l’aide aux athlètes ayant des difficultés financières les empêchant de participer au basketball.

Le sport sécuritaire est un modèle à plusieurs facettes qui a pour but de développer et d’encourager des environnements sportifs à être sécuritaires pour tous les participants de tout âge et de tout niveau de compétition. L’objectif du sport sécuritaire est d’assurer une plus grande participation sportive à tous les niveaux en créant, en conservant et en promouvant une culture et un environnement sportif qui responsabilise, qui est positif, inclusif et équitable pour tous les participants. Et surtout un environnement sans abus, hacèlement, ni discrimination.

Cliquez sur Comment appliquer si vous souhaitez avoir de plus amples renseignements et une description détaillée de toutes les exigences.

Le pilier des compétences techniques se focalise sur le programme sur le terrain et veille à l’alignement des parcours des athlètes et des entraîneurs. Cela inclut les compétences appropriées au développement pour les athlètes, la formation des entraîneurs et globalement le développement de l’athlète à long terme (DALT).

Le modèle DALT de Canada Basketball est centré sur l’athlète, dirigé par l’entraîneur et basé sur la science du sport. Le modèle DALT se focalise sur un cadre général du développement de l’athlète avec une attention spéciale à la croissance, la maturation et le développement physique et mental.

Cliquez sur Comment appliquer si vous souhaitez avoir de plus amples renseignements et une description détaillée de toutes les exigences.

La gouvernance & l’administration comprennent les politiques, les processus, les systèmes et les contrôles utilisés par l’organisation. En général, cela aide à avoir un leadership stratégique et à la prise de décision pour atteindre la vision de l’organisation, tout en gérant le personnel, les volontaires et les ressources financières.

Des procédures administratives solides aident à la tenue des registres, à la stabilité à long terme et à la gestion du risque. Toutes les organisations vérifiées doivent être soutenues par une base solide de gouvernance pour donner que les participants aient confiance en leur réussite future.

Cliquez sur Comment appliquer si vous souhaitez avoir de plus amples renseignements et une description détaillée de toutes les exigences.

Comment appliquer

Pour commencer votre application pour que votre organisation devienne vérifiée par Canada Basketball, veuillez bien vouloir compléter et soumettre le formulaire suivant.

Questions fréquemment posées

Ce programme ne s’applique-t-il qu’aux « clubs » de basketball ?

  • Non. Tous les clubs, associations, groupes communautaires et groupes de basketball organisés au Canada peuvent devenir vérifiés Canada Basketball. Ce programme a pour but d’unifier l’écosystème du basketball dans notre pays et tout le monde est invité à le rejoindre.

Mon association est petite et elle n’est dirigée que par des bénévoles. Ce programme peut-il nous convenir ?

  • Même les petits groupes sont encouragés à être vérifiés. Les critères n’ont pas été établis seulement pour les grands clubs, mais plutôt sur ce que vous offrez à vos participants à travers votre programme. Toutes les organisations recevront et auront accès aux avantages d’être vérifié Canada Basketball.

Pourquoi Canada Basketball développe et met en place un programme de vérification ?

  • La popularité et la croissance du basketball au Canada augmentent rapidement et toutes les organisations de basketball jouent un rôle vital dans tout cela. En élevant les normes et en créant un système unifié à travers tout le pays, nous avons le potentiel de bâtir un environnement de classe mondiale pour le développement de nos joueurs, entraîneurs, officiels et volontaires.

Pourquoi mon organisation doit-elle faire partie du programme de vérification ?

  • Lorsque vous êtes vérifié avec Canada Basketball et votre OSPT, vous montrez à vos participants et à votre communauté que votre association respecte les plus hautes normes en matière de sécurité des participants et de parcours d’entraînement des athlètes. De plus, vous aurez accès à de nombreux avantages qui seront encore plus nombreux quand plus de groupes deviendront vérifiés.

Comment Canada Basketball est-elle parvenue à sélectionner les exigences qui font partie du programme de vérification ?

  • En collaboration avec les organismes de sport provinciaux/territoriaux, Canada Basketball a créé un groupe de travail pour analyser et bâtir un cadre pour les piliers de succès ainsi que pour les critères demandés pour faire partie du programme de vérification. En suivant les meilleures pratiques du modèle de développement de l’athlète à long terme et de la sécurité des participants, les critères finaux ont été développés pour détailler ce que tous les groupes doivent accomplir pour remplir les critères minimaux qui vont aider à élever le niveau du basketball dans tout le pays.

Mon organisation doit-elle répondre à tous les critères au moment de l’application ?

  • Non. Nous comprenons que, bien que certains critères peuvent être soumis immédiatement, d’autres critères peuvent mettre plus de temps à atteindre. Nous pouvons volontiers travailler avec vous pour vous aider à naviguer dans ce processus pour adopter ces meilleures pratiques.

Quelles sont les ressources disponibles pour aider mon organisation à répondre aux exigences du programme de vérification ?

  • Canada Basketball a développé un manuel d’information complet pour appuyer tous les groupes qui cherchent à remplir les critères pour être vérifiés. Ce manuel explique, en détail, les critères auxquels il faut répondre. Canada Basketball vous donnera également des modèles de politiques (par exemple le règlement, les directives de protection des athlètes, etc) que vous pouvez utiliser pour votre propre organisation.

Qui est chargé d’examiner les applications ?

  • Canada Basketball, en partenariat avec votre organisme de sport provincial/territorial, examinera toutes les applications pour vérifier que l’organisation réponde aux exigences minimales pour donner une expérience de basketball inclusive, sécuritaire et appropriée en matière de développement pour tous les participants.