Forever
the North

the Canadian National Basketball Team Alumni

Team Canada Basketball Alumni

The  Canadian National Basketball Team Alumni continues  to enrich our nation’s sports culture by preserving our storied basketball past while connecting and engaging with our Alumni to support and advance the sport of basketball in Canada.  The Alumni will foster networking and other opportunities to reconnect former National Team players, coaches, builders and referees who share a passion for basketball in Canada, excellence in sport and the belief that Canada should be a perennial podium contender.

About the CBOC

Over X,X00 members of our National Team alumni have represented Canada at the Olympic Games, Paralympic Games, PanAmerican Games. We acknowledge and celebrate the sacrifice and dedication of the following men and women who have demonstrated high performance excellence on behalf of Canada.

Hall of Fame - Mission Statement

The mission of the Hall of Fame is “to recognize, honour, immortalize and enshrine the contributions to the development and advancement of basketball in Canada or internationally.”

Select an induction class:

2019
2017
2015
2013
2007
2006
2005
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
1996
1995
1994
1993
1992
1991
1989
1983
1981
1980
1979
1978
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
1929-1930 UBC Women’s Team
Team
Complete Bio

2006

1936 Olympic Ford V8’s Team
Team
Complete Bio

1981

1976 Senior Men’s Olympic Team
Team
Complete Bio

2007

Al Rae
Official
Complete Bio

2000

Alex Fisher
Builder
Complete Bio

2001

Andrea Blackwell
Athlete
Complete Bio

2013

Barry Howson
Athlete
Complete Bio

2001

Bev Smith
Athlete
Complete Bio

2001

Bill Coulthard
Athlete
Complete Bio

2013

Bill Ritchie
Official
Complete Bio

1997

Bill Robinson
Athlete
Complete Bio

2002

Bill Rogin
Athlete
Complete Bio

1999

Bill Wennington
Athlete
Complete Bio

2005

Bob Gage
Builder
Complete Bio

2001

Bob Houbregs
Athlete
Complete Bio

2000

Bob Phibbs
Athlete
Complete Bio

2007

Brian Heaney
Athlete/Coach
Complete Bio

1997

Bryan Nicurity
Official
Complete Bio

1996

Candace Jirik
Athlete
Complete Bio

2013

Carl Ridd
Athlete
Complete Bio

1980

Chris Critelli
Athlete
Complete Bio

1998

Clarence Hollingsworth
Builder
Complete Bio

1979

Darlene Currie
Athlete / Coach
Complete Bio

1994

Debbie Huband
Athlete
Complete Bio

1994

Derek Sankey
Athlete/Builder
Complete Bio

1994

Dianne Norman
Player
Complete Bio

2019

Don McCrae
Athlete/Coach
Complete Bio

1994

Dr. James Naismith
Builder
Complete Bio

1978

Dr. Paul Thomas
Coach
Complete Bio

1980

Dr. Percy Page
Coach
Complete Bio

1978

Ebbie Bowering
Builder
Complete Bio

2001

Edmonton Commercial Grads
Team
Complete Bio

1980

Edmonton Grads
Individuals
Complete Bio

1983

Edward Patrick Browne
Builder
Complete Bio

1989

Eli Pasquale
Athlete
Complete Bio

2003

Ernest Quigley
Official
Complete Bio

2001

Frank Baldwin
Coach
Complete Bio

1979

Fred Horgan
Official
Complete Bio

1996

Fred Ingaldson
Athlete
Complete Bio

2002

Fred Thomas
Athlete
Complete Bio

1995

George Stulac
Athlete
Complete Bio

2015

Gerald Kazanowski
Athlete
Complete Bio

2005

Gerry Livingston
Builder
Complete Bio

2001

Gino Sovran
Athlete
Complete Bio

2002

Hank Biasatti
Athlete/Coach
Complete Bio

2001

Hank Tatarchuk
Builder
Complete Bio

2003

Howard Kelsey
Player/Builder
Complete Bio

2019

Jack Donohue
Coach
Complete Bio

1992

Jack Kenyon
Coach
Complete Bio

2003

James V Rose
Coach
Complete Bio

2001

Jamie Russell
Athlete
Complete Bio

2000

Jay Triano
Athlete
Complete Bio

1993

Jim Zoet
Athlete
Complete Bio

2015

Joanne Sargent
Player
Complete Bio

2019

John (Winx) Willox
Official
Complete Bio

1994

John McKibbon
Athlete
Complete Bio

2001

John Metras
Coach
Complete Bio

2002

John Weiland
Official
Complete Bio

2019

Joyce Slipp (Douthwright)—
Athlete
Complete Bio

2000

Kathy Shields
Coach
Complete Bio

2003

Ken Shields
Coach
Complete Bio

1999

Kitch McPherson
Official
Complete Bio

1979

Lars Hansen
Athlete
Complete Bio

2006

Leo Rautins
Athlete
Complete Bio

1997

Martin Riley
Athlete
Complete Bio

1995

Mike Smrek
Player
Complete Bio

2019

Misty Thomas
Athlete
Complete Bio

1998

Noel Robertson (MacDonald)
Athlete
Complete Bio

1978

Nora McDermott
Athlete
Complete Bio

1996

Norm Baker
Athlete
Complete Bio

1979

Norman Gloag
Builder
Complete Bio

1979

Olga Hrycak
Builder
Complete Bio

2017

Patricia Lawson
Player
Complete Bio

2019

Patricia Tatham (MacDonald)
Athlete
Complete Bio

2002

Phil Tollestrup
Athlete
Complete Bio

1991

R. Ruby Richman
Athlete, Coach, Builder
Complete Bio

1980

Rita Bell (Panasis)
Athlete
Complete Bio

2001

Romel Raffin
Athlete
Complete Bio

1996

Ron Foxcroft
Builder/Official
Complete Bio

1999

Stanley “Red” Nantais
Athlete
Complete Bio

2001

Steve Konchalski
Coach
Complete Bio

1993

Sylvia Sweeney
Athlete
Complete Bio

1994

Ted Earley
Official
Complete Bio

1992

Todd MacCulloch
Athlete
Complete Bio

2017

Warren Reynolds
Athlete
Complete Bio

2001

Wesman Women’s Basketball ’92-94-Team
Team
Complete Bio

1995

Nomination Information

ELIGIBILITY

Subject to the nomination criteria, any person is eligible for election as an Honoured Member of the Canadian Basketball Hall of Fame who has achieved an outstanding record of excellence, in the following categories:

ATHLETES

Athletes are individuals who, while Canadian citizens, have participated as a player at an elite level and have achieved outstanding and extraordinary success as a player in the sport of basketball at the amateur and/or professional level.

TEAMS

Teams are made up of athletes who represent Canada, a province, a municipality or a Canadian organization or corporation that have accomplished outstanding or extraordinary results nationally and/or internationally that has brought prominence to the sport of basketball in Canada.

COACHES

Coaches are individuals whose tireless efforts and expertise in the development and training of basketball athletes has made an outstanding and extraordinary contribution to the sport of basketball in Canada and/or internationally.

OFFICIALS

Officials are individuals who have exhibited outstanding and extraordinary skill and expertise as referees, as evidenced by their participation at an elite level of competition, nationally and internationally.  Such individuals must also have contributed significantly to the training and development of basketball officials in Canada.

BUILDERS

Builders are individuals who have made outstanding and extraordinary contributions towards the promotion, development and advancement of basketball in Canada, and without restricting the generality of the foregoing may include administrators, officials, trainers, managers, coaches and doctors.  Such contribution should be national in scope.

NOMINATIONS FOR AWARDS OR RECOGNITION

i)  All nominations for Awards or for induction into the Hall of Fame shall be submitted to the National Office, or other such office as may be determined from time to time and at the sole discretion of Canada Basketball and the Board of Directors, before the established deadline for submissions.

ii)  Nominations will be accepted from the following:

  • The Canada Basketball Board of Directors.

  • Any Canada Basketball Class A or Class B member in good standing.

  • Any citizen of Canada, provided that the nomination has been signed by 10 individuals and receives the signed approval of either the Board of Directors of Canada Basketball or a Class A or Class B memberprior to the submission to the Hall of Fame.

  • Any Canadian media representative provided that the nomination is received on official letterhead of the media source and is signed by an official representative of any Class A or Class B member in good standing of Canada Basketball.

iii)  All nominations shall be in writing and shall contain a complete record of the merits and achievements of each candidate.

iv)  All submitted nominations must be professional in nature and include, at a minimum, the following information in order to be considered for inclusion onto the Hall of Fame ballot:

  • Nomination form

  • Cover letter (maximum 1 page) - A brief overview of the reason why the nominee should be considered for the Hall of Fame and how this nominee reflects the values of Canada Basketball:

    • Purpose - We are principled, focused and strategic in pursuing our vision.

    • Excellence - We are innovative, performance-driven and results oriented.

    • Team - We believe in the power of "team" on the court, in our communities and across the country.

    • Nation - We take pride in representing Canada to the world.

  • Biography (maximum 4 pages) - A complete and detailed biography of the nominee's accomplishments.

  • Letters of Support (3-5 letters) - At least three letters (no more than five letters) of support from members in good standing who have direct knowledge of the value and impact of the nominee's achievements and who support the nomination.

  • Additional Material - Statistical information, copies of news clippings, photos, and other supporting documents (if available) during the nominees era.

v)  Failure to provide this information will result in the non-consideration of the nominated candidate.

vi) Canada Basketball encourages nominations for all qualified individuals and teams. The organization is committed to equity and diversity and welcomes nominations for women, visible minorities, Aboriginal Peoples, persons with disabilities, and persons of any sexual orientation or gender identity.

CRITERIA FOR NOMINATION

Nominees must be:

  • A Canadian Citizen, or

  • A resident of Canada for a minimum of 3 years, or

  • Born in Canada, or

  • Made their distinguished contribution to the game of basketball in Canada.

CATEGORY-SPECIFIC CRITERIA
ATHLETES

Players must be retired from playing status at their highest level of competition (i.e., U SPORTS/CCAA, National Team, etc.) for 5 years before they are eligible for nomination.

Voting for players must be based on the player’s record, playing ability, integrity, sportsmanship, character, and contribution to the teams on which the player participated. The player’s overall contribution to the game of basketball in general must also be considered.

TEAMS

For teams to be eligible for nomination, 5 years must have elapsed from the date of the significant milestone which forms the basis for the nomination.

COACHES

For coaches to be eligible for nomination, they must be retired from professional coaching activity for 2 years, or 1 year if 65 or older, or have been an active coach for at least 25 years.

OFFICIALS

Officials must be retired from actively officiating for 2 years, or 1 year if 65 or older, in order to be eligible for nomination.

BUILDERS

Builders are exempt from specific timelines with respect to nomination.

The National Basketball Teams Alumni Association (“NBTAA”) is an association of former Canadian National Basketball Team members (men and women) whose mission is to enrich our nation’s sports culture by preserving our storied basketball past while connecting and engaging with our Alumni to support and advance the sport of basketball in Canada. The NBTAA will foster networking and other opportunities to reconnect former National Team players, coaches, builders and referees who share a passion for basketball in Canada, excellence in sport and the belief that Canada should be a perennial podium contender.

Learn More

Dr. James Naismith

James Naismith, 74 years old, stood at centre court, leather basketball in hand, to toss up the opening tip-off between France and Estonia at the 1936 Summer Games in Berlin, Germany. It was the first official basketball game in Olympic history, and the sport had come a long way in a relatively short period of time.

Just 45 years earlier, in search of a new indoor activity during the snowy New England winters, Naismith introduced the game he’d devised to his students in Springfield, Massachusetts in an indoor activity during the snowy New England winters, borrowing from one of his favourite childhood games growing up nearby Ottawa. Basketball spread across North American campuses like wildfire. Still, surely Naismith couldn’t have anticipated the sport’s worldwide reach leading to this moment. Or that as the years passed the game would only grow bigger, eventually becoming one of the most-played and influential sports on the planet, turning its Canadian inventor into an icon in the process.

Naismith was born on November 6th, 1861 in the Ottawa Valley’s Ramsey Township and raised in Almonte, Ontario. At the age of nine he lost both parents to Typhoid fever and he and his two siblings moved in with their uncle in nearby Bennie’s Corners, where Naismith spent his free time playing with friends outdoors. One of the most popular games on the schoolyard was called "duck on a rock," in which kids would try to knock down a rock perched on a large stone by throwing smaller rocks at it from 15 feet away. There would be a designated guard to protect the rock, and so you had a better chance of dislodging the rock by tossing a high-arching shot out of the guard’s reach.

By the time a 21 year-old Naismith enrolled at McGill University in Montreal, he was a standout athlete who competed in lacrosse, football, rugby, soccer and gymnastics. In 1867 he won the Wicksteed gold medal, awarded to the top athlete of the graduating class.

After leaving to study theology at Presbyterian College he continued to work at McGill, becoming the school’s first full-time Phys. Ed. instructor. Once he graduated from the college in 1890, he didn’t pursue traditional ministry like his peers but instead saw an opportunity to impact young people through sport. He left Montreal and joined the International YMCA Training School in Springfield, Mass. (later known as Springfield College) and in 1891 became an instructor.

That winter, the school’s director of physical education, Dr. Luther Gulick, asked Naismith to design a game that students could play inside the gymnasium, the only stipulation being that he must "make it fair for all players, and free of rough play.

"Inspired by "Duck on a rock" and his childhood in Ontario, Naismith set about creating what he’d call Basket Ball. On December 21, 1891, he brought his students into the gymnasium, split them into two teams of nine, and explained his game.

"I showed them two peach baskets I’d nailed up at each end of the gym, and I told them the idea was to throw the ball into the opposing team’s peach basket," Naismith recalled in a 1939 radio interview. "I blew a whistle, and the first game of basketball began."

That first game was far from what the inventor had envisioned.

"The boys began tackling, kicking and punching in the clinches," he recalled. "They ended up in a free-for-all in the middle of the gym floor. Before I could pull them apart, one boy was knocked out, several of them had black eyes and one had a dislocated shoulder."

He quickly went about devising a set of 13 rules, affixing them to the wall of the Springfield gymnasium. On January 15th, 1892, the rules were published in the school newspaper. Over a century later, in December 2010, Naismith’s original hand-written rules were put up for auction by the Naismith International Basketball Foundation and sold for $4.3 million, a record price for sports memorabilia.

In Springfield, basketball’s popularity soared on campus, and students took the game with them as they graduated. Soon it was being played on campuses around North America, with the first intercollegiate game believed to have taken place in 1895.

When Naismith took the position of associate professor of physical culture and chapel director at the University of Kansas in 1898, he established a basketball program at the school and became the head coach. To this day, Kansas has the second-most victories of any other college program in the United States. But Naismith’s 55-60 coaching record makes him the only losing coach in the program’s history.

Naismith handed coaching duties to his student, "Phog" Allen in 1907 and began to look for new ways to make an impact. He was a volunteer chaplain with the Kansas Army National Guard and in April, 1917, was dispatched to help soldiers in France during the First World War. When he returned to Kansas two years later, he assumed the role of campus physician at the University of Kansas, where he stayed until his retirement in 1937.

By then, he had witnessed firsthand how much his game, basketball, had grown worldwide. The ‘36 Olympics in Berlin was a particularly proud moment for Naismith, who passed away on November 28th, 1939 in his Kansas home.

He didn’t get to see how much more the sport would continue to blossom, and would surely have had trouble believing it’s global reach. In 2007 FIBA estimated that more than 450 million people play the game worldwide. In Canada, a 2013 report found that basketball was the fourth-most popular
sport — and rising —among Canadian children.

In 1978 Naismith was honoured as part of the inaugural class of the Canadian Basketball Hall of Fame.

le nord
pour toujors

Les Alumni de l'Équipe Nationale Canadienne de Basketball

Les Alumni de l'Équipe Nationale Canadienne de Basketball

L’Association des anciennes équipes nationales de basketball continue d’enrichir la culture sportive de notre pays en préservant notre riche passé en matière de basketball tout en communiquant avec nos anciens et en les impliquant afin de soutenir et de faire progresser le sport du basketball au Canada. Les anciens favoriseront le réseautage et d'autres occasions de renouer avec d'anciens joueurs et entraîneurs de l'équipe nationale, bâtisseurs et arbitres qui partagent une passion pour le basketball au Canada, l'excellence dans le sport et la conviction que le Canada devrait continuellement être un sérieux prétendant au podium.

About the CBOC

Over X,X00 members of our National Team alumni have represented Canada at the Olympic Games, Paralympic Games, PanAmerican Games. We acknowledge and celebrate the sacrifice and dedication of the following men and women who have demonstrated high performance excellence on behalf of Canada.

Temple de la renommée - Énoncé de mission

La mission du Temple de la Renommée est de “reconnaître, honorer, immortaliser et enchâsser les contributions au développement et à la progression du basketball au Canada et internationalement."

Passer directement à une catégorie d’intronisation :

2019
2017
2015
2013
2007
2006
2005
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
1996
1995
1994
1993
1992
1991
1989
1983
1981
1980
1979
1978
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
1929-1930 UBC Women’s Team
Team
Bio complète

2006

1936 Olympic Ford V8’s Team
Team
Bio complète

1981

1976 Senior Men’s Olympic Team
Team
Bio complète

2007

Al Rae
Official
Bio complète

2000

Alex Fisher
Builder
Bio complète

2001

Andrea Blackwell
Athlete
Bio complète

2013

Barry Howson
Athlete
Bio complète

2001

Bev Smith
Athlete
Bio complète

2001

Bill Coulthard
Athlete
Bio complète

2013

Bill Ritchie
Official
Bio complète

1997

Bill Robinson
Athlete
Bio complète

2002

Bill Rogin
Athlete
Bio complète

1999

Bill Wennington
Athlete
Bio complète

2005

Bob Gage
Builder
Bio complète

2001

Bob Houbregs
Athlete
Bio complète

2000

Bob Phibbs
Athlete
Bio complète

2007

Brian Heaney
Athlete/Coach
Bio complète

1997

Bryan Nicurity
Official
Bio complète

1996

Candace Jirik
Athlete
Bio complète

2013

Carl Ridd
Athlete
Bio complète

1980

Chris Critelli
Athlete
Bio complète

1998

Clarence Hollingsworth
Builder
Bio complète

1979

Darlene Currie
Athlete / Coach
Bio complète

1994

Debbie Huband
Athlete
Bio complète

1994

Derek Sankey
Athlete/Builder
Bio complète

1994

Dianne Norman
Player
Bio complète

2019

Don McCrae
Athlete/Coach
Bio complète

1994

Dr. James Naismith
Builder
Bio complète

1978

Dr. Paul Thomas
Coach
Bio complète

1980

Dr. Percy Page
Coach
Bio complète

1978

Ebbie Bowering
Builder
Bio complète

2001

Edmonton Commercial Grads
Team
Bio complète

1980

Edmonton Grads
Individuals
Bio complète

1983

Edward Patrick Browne
Builder
Bio complète

1989

Eli Pasquale
Athlete
Bio complète

2003

Ernest Quigley
Official
Bio complète

2001

Frank Baldwin
Coach
Bio complète

1979

Fred Horgan
Official
Bio complète

1996

Fred Ingaldson
Athlete
Bio complète

2002

Fred Thomas
Athlete
Bio complète

1995

George Stulac
Athlete
Bio complète

2015

Gerald Kazanowski
Athlete
Bio complète

2005

Gerry Livingston
Builder
Bio complète

2001

Gino Sovran
Athlete
Bio complète

2002

Hank Biasatti
Athlete/Coach
Bio complète

2001

Hank Tatarchuk
Builder
Bio complète

2003

Howard Kelsey
Player/Builder
Bio complète

2019

Jack Donohue
Coach
Bio complète

1992

Jack Kenyon
Coach
Bio complète

2003

James V Rose
Coach
Bio complète

2001

Jamie Russell
Athlete
Bio complète

2000

Jay Triano
Athlete
Bio complète

1993

Jim Zoet
Athlete
Bio complète

2015

Joanne Sargent
Player
Bio complète

2019

John (Winx) Willox
Official
Bio complète

1994

John McKibbon
Athlete
Bio complète

2001

John Metras
Coach
Bio complète

2002

John Weiland
Official
Bio complète

2019

Joyce Slipp (Douthwright)—
Athlete
Bio complète

2000

Kathy Shields
Coach
Bio complète

2003

Ken Shields
Coach
Bio complète

1999

Kitch McPherson
Official
Bio complète

1979

Lars Hansen
Athlete
Bio complète

2006

Leo Rautins
Athlete
Bio complète

1997

Martin Riley
Athlete
Bio complète

1995

Mike Smrek
Player
Bio complète

2019

Misty Thomas
Athlete
Bio complète

1998

Noel Robertson (MacDonald)
Athlete
Bio complète

1978

Nora McDermott
Athlete
Bio complète

1996

Norm Baker
Athlete
Bio complète

1979

Norman Gloag
Builder
Bio complète

1979

Olga Hrycak
Builder
Bio complète

2017

Patricia Lawson
Player
Bio complète

2019

Patricia Tatham (MacDonald)
Athlete
Bio complète

2002

Phil Tollestrup
Athlete
Bio complète

1991

R. Ruby Richman
Athlete, Coach, Builder
Bio complète

1980

Rita Bell (Panasis)
Athlete
Bio complète

2001

Romel Raffin
Athlete
Bio complète

1996

Ron Foxcroft
Builder/Official
Bio complète

1999

Stanley “Red” Nantais
Athlete
Bio complète

2001

Steve Konchalski
Coach
Bio complète

1993

Sylvia Sweeney
Athlete
Bio complète

1994

Ted Earley
Official
Bio complète

1992

Todd MacCulloch
Athlete
Bio complète

2017

Warren Reynolds
Athlete
Bio complète

2001

Wesman Women’s Basketball ’92-94-Team
Team
Bio complète

1995

Informations relatives à la nomination

ADMISSIBILITÉ

Sujet aux critères de nomination, toute personne est éligible à une élection à titre de membre distingué du Temple de la Renommée du basketball canadien en vertu de sa fiche d’excellence dans une des catégories suivantes :

ATHLÈTES

Les athlètes sont des individus qui, à titre de citoyens canadiens, ont participé en tant que joueur à un niveau élite et ont obtenu des succès importants et extraordinaires en tant que joueur de basketball au niveau amateur et / ou professionnel.

ÉQUIPES

Les équipes sont composées d’athlètes qui représentent le Canada, une province, une municipalité ou une organisation ou corporation canadienne qui ont obtenu des succès importants et extraordinaires sur la scène nationale et / ou internationale qui a mis en vedette le basketball au Canada.

ENTRAÎNEURS

Les entraîneurs sont des individus dont les efforts soutenus et l’expertise dans le développement et l’entraînement d’athlètes en basketball ont apporté une contribution importance et au basketball au Canada et / ou à l’international.

OFFICIELS

Les officiels sont des individus qui ont démontré une habileté et une expertise consommées et extraordinaires en tant qu’officiel, celles ci étant démontrées par leur participation à un haut niveau de compétition, tant au national qu’à l’international. Ces individus doivent aussi avoir contribué de façon significative à la formation et le développement d’officiels de basketball au Canada.

BÂTISSEURS

Les bâtisseurs sont des individus qui ont offert une contribution importante et extraordinaires dans la promotion, le développement et la progression du basketball au Canada, et sans restrictions à ce qui précède, peuvent inclure des administrateurs, officiels, soigneurs, gérants, entraîneurs et médecins. Ces contributions doivent être d’envergure nationale.

 NOMINATIONS À DES RÉCOMPENSES OU RECONNAISSANCE

i) Toutes les nominations à une récompense ou une intronisation au Temple de la Renommée devront être soumises au bureau national ou tout autre bureau qui pourrait être déterminé de temps à autre et à l’unique discrétion de Canada Basketball et du conseil d’administration, ceci avant la date limite des soumissions.

ii)  Les nominations seront acceptées de la part des personnes ou groupes suivants :

  • Le Conseil d’Administration

  • Tout membre de classe A ou B de Canada Basketball en règle

  • Les membres du panel de sélection et membres du comité des vétérans

  • Grand public

iii)  Toutes les nominations devront être soumises par écrit et inclure un record complet des mérites et réussites de chaque candidat.

iv)  Toutes les nominations soumises le seront de façon professionnelle et comprendre, au minimum, les informations suivantes pour être considérées en vue d’une inscription au bulletin de vote du Temple de la Renommée :

  • Fiche de Nomination

  • lettre de présentation (maximum d’une page) – Un bref survol des raisons voulant que le candidat soit considéré en vue d’une intronisation au Temple de la Renommée et comment ce candidat reflète les valeurs de Canada Basketball :

    • Objectif – nous tenons à nos principes, sommes concentrés et stratégique dans la poursuite de notre vision,

    • Excellence – nous sommes innovateurs, motivés par la performance et orientés vers les résultats,

    • Équipe – nous croyons à la puissance de l’équipe sur le plancher, dans nos communautés et à travers le pays.

    • Nation – nous sommes fiers de représenter le Canada partout au monde ;

  • une biographie (maximum de 4 pages) – Une biographie complète et détaillée des réussites du candidat. Veuillez inclure la date et l’endroit de naissance, la date de décès (si tel est le cas) et les informations personnelles de communication ou celles de la famille ;

  • lettres d’appui (3 à 5 lettres) - au moins trois (3) (pas plus de cinq) lettres d’appuis de membres en règle qui possèdent une connaissance directe de la valeur et de l’impact des réussites du candidat et qui appuient la candidature ;

  • matériel d’informations – statistiques, copies d’articles de journaux, photos, etc., (si disponibles lors de la période d’activités des candidats).

v) À défaut de soumettre ces informations, la nomination de ce candidat ne sera pas considérée.

vi) Canada Basketball encourage les nominations de tous les individus et de toutes les équipes qualifiés. L’organisation s’engage à l’équité et à la diversité et encourage les nominations des femmes, des minorités visibles, des Peuples Autochtones, des personnes en situation de handicap et des personnes de toute orientation sexuelle ou identité de genre.

CRITÈRES DE NOMINATION

Les candidats doivent :

  • être citoyen canadien; ou

  • être résident du Canada depuis au moins trois (3) ans; ou,

  • être né au Canada; ou,

  • avoir effectué leur contribution distinguée au basketball au Canada.

CRITÈRES SPÉCIFIQUES PAR CATÉGORIE
ATHLÈTES :

Les joueurs doivent s’être retirés de la compétition active au plus haut niveau (ex., Équipe nationale, WNBA/NBA, LCEB, U Sports, etc.) depuis au moins trois (3) ans avant d’être admissibles à une nomination.

Le vote en faveur d’un joueur doit se fonder sur la fiche du joueur, son habileté au jeu, son intégrité, son esprit sportif, son caractère et sa contribution aux équipes avec lesquelles il a participé. La contribution générale du joueur au sport de basketball doit aussi être considérée.

ÉQUIPES :

Afin d’être admissible à une nomination, trois (3) années doivent s’être écoulées depuis que l’équipe a accompli l’exploit qui est à l’origine de la nomination.

ENTRAÎNEURS :

Afin d’être admissibles à une nomination, les entraîneurs doivent avoir pris leur retraite des activités professionnelles d’entraîneur depuis deux (2) ans, ou ils doivent être professionnellement actif pour au minimum 15 ans.

OFFICIELS :

Afin d’être admissibles à une nomination, les officiels doivent avoir pris leur retraite active de l’arbitrage depuis deux (2) ans, ou ils doivent être professionnellement actif pour au minimum 15 ans.

BÂTISSEURS :

Les bâtisseurs sont exemptés de toute limite de temps en ce qui concerne leur nomination.

L’AAENB favorisera le réseautage et d'autres occasions de renouer avec d'anciens joueurs et entraîneurs de l'équipe nationale, bâtisseurs et arbitres qui partagent une passion pour le basketball au Canada, l'excellence dans le sport et la conviction que le Canada devrait continuellement être un sérieux prétendant au podium.

En savoir plus
Canadian Basketball Hall of Fame classes for 2021 and 2022 announced 

Legends Brunch in partnership with SLAM Canada will take place July 10, 2022.

Someone like me? My battle with mental illness

“I never imagined someone like you would be struggling with their mental health"

Canada Basketball now accepting nominees for the Canadian Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2022

Deadline for nominations is February 6, 2022.

Tammy Sutton-Brown named Associate of Basketball and Franchise Operations with Raptors 905

Sutton-Brown represented Canada at the 2000 Sydney Olympics.

Steve Nash named one of the 75 greatest players in NBA history

Nash represented Canada for over 10 years, including the 2000 Sydney Olympics.

Steve Nash to be inducted into Canada's Sports Hall of Fame on Sunday

Nash led Canada on a historic run to the Olympic quarterfinals in 2000 in Sydney

National Team veteran Jevohn Shepherd joins University of Toronto Varsity Blues

Will oversee player development and player advancement as assistant coach.

Sylvia Sweeney: Canada’s First Lady of Basketball

Sweeney represented Canada at two Olympic Games and captain for five years.

From Montreal to the world: Joel Anthony reflects on his basketball journey

Anthony played 10 seasons in the NBA and won two titles with the Miami Heat.

Dr. James Naismith

James Naismith, à74 ans, était au centre du terrain, un ballon de basketball en cuir à la main, et a eu l’honneur de lancer le ballon pour débuter le match entre la France et l’Estonie pendant les Jeux olympiques de 1936 à Berlin en Allemagne. C’était le premier match officiel de basketball dans l’histoire des Jeux olympiques et ce sport avait fait déjà beaucoup de chemin en peu de temps.  

À peine 45 ans plus tôt, Naismith a présenté le sport qu’il avait inventé à ses étudiants deSpringfield dans le Massachusetts dans l’espoir de trouver une activité d’intérieur pendant les hivers neigeux de la Nouvelle-Angleterre, tirant son inspiration d’un de ses jeux d’enfants favoris quand il était petit, près d’Ottawa.Le basketball s’est répandu dans les campus d’Amérique du Nord comme une traînée de poudre. Pourtant, même à ce moment, Naismith n’aurait pas pu imaginer que ce sport allait avoir une portée mondiale. Ou bien qu’au fil des années, le sport continuerait à se développer, pour devenir un des sports les plus pratiqués et les plus influents sur la planète, transformant cet inventeur canadien en icône.  

Naismith est né le 6 novembre 1861 à Ramsey Township de l’Ottawa Valley et a grandi à Almonte en Ontario. À neuf ans, il a perdu ses deux parents qui ont succombé à la fièvre thyphoïde, et lui, son frère et sa sœur sont partis vivre chez leur oncle àBennie’s Corners, où Naismith préférait passer son temps libre à jouer dehors avec ses amis. Un des jeux les plus populaires à l’école s’appelait “Duck on a rock” (canard sur une pierre en français) où les enfants devaient essayer de faire tomber un caillou posé sur une grande pierre en lançant des petits cailloux à 15 pieds de la cible. Il y avait une personne chargée de protéger la pierre, donc vous aviez plus de chances de déloger le caillou en tirant au-dessus de la personne qui était alors hors de portée, en formant un arc.  

À 21 ans, Naismith étudiait à l’Université McGill de Montréal, et était un excellent athlète qui faisait du lacrosse, du football américain, du rugby, du football et de la gymnastique. En 1887, il a remporté la médaille d’or Wicksteed, attribuée au meilleur athlète d’une année de promotion. 

Après être parti pour étudier la théologie à Presbyterian College, il a continué à travailler àMcGill, devenant ainsi le premier professeur d’éducation physique à temps plein de l’école. Une fois son diplôme en poche en 1890, il n’a pas continué le ministère traditionnel comme les autres car il a vu une opportunité d’impacter les jeunes par le sport. Il a quitté Montréal pour rejoindre l’InternationalYMCA Training School à Springfield dans le Massachusetts (connu plus tard sous le nom de Springfield College) et en 1891, il est devenu instructeur.  

Cet hiver-là, le directeur d’éducation physique de l’école, Dr. Luther Gulick, a demandé àNaismith de créer un jeu auquel les étudiants pourraient jouer dans la gym, la seule stipulation était que le jeu devait “être juste pour tous les joueurs, et ne pas être violent.”  

Inspiré par le jeu “Duck on a rock” (canard sur une pierre en français) et par son enfance en Ontario,Naismith a créé ce qu’il appellera Basket Ball. Le 21 décembre 1891, il a amené des étudiants à la gym, les a divisés en deux équipes de neuf, et leur a expliqués le jeu.  

“Je leur ai montrés deux paniers de pêche que j’avais posés des deux côtés de la gym, et je leur ai dit que l’idée était de lancer le ballon dans le panier de pêche de l’équipe adverse,” se souvient Naismith dans un entretien radio en 1939. “J’ai sifflé, et le premier match de basketball a commencé.” 

Ce premier match était loin de ce que l’inventeur avait imaginé.  

“Les garçons ont commencé à se pousser, à se donner des coups,”se souvient-il. “Ils ont fini par une mêlée générale au centre de la gym. Avant d’avoir pu les séparer, un garçon était K.O., plusieurs d’entre eux avaient des yeux au beurre noir et un autre souffrait d’une épaule déboîtée.” 

Il a ensuite rapidement mis en place 13 règles, et les a affichées sur le mur de la gym de Springfield. Le 15 janvier 1892, les règles étaient publiées dans le journal de l’école. Un siècle plus tard en décembre2010, l’affiche des règles écrites à la main par Naismith ont été mises aux enchères par la Fondation Internationale de Basketball Naismith et vendues pour4,3 millions de dollars, une somme record pour un souvenir de sport.  

À Springfield, la popularité du basketball a explosé sur le campus, et les étudiants ont emmené le jeu avec eux après avoir été diplômés.Peu de temps après, on y jouait sur les campus d’Amérique du Nord, et on pense que le premier match universitaire s’est joué en 1895.  

Lorsque Naismith a pris le poste de professeur associé en culture physique et de directeur de chapelle à l’Université du Kansas en 1898, il a établi un programme de basketball à l’école et est devenu entraîneur-chef.À ce jour, le Kansas a le deuxième plus grand nombre de victoires parmi tousles programmes universitaires des États-Unis. Mais le bilan de 55-60 deNaismith fait de lui le seul entraîneur de l’histoire du programme à avoir connu plus de défaites que de victoires.  

Naismith a donné les rennes à son étudiant, “Phog” Allen en 1907 et a commencé à chercher de nouveaux moyens pour avoir de l’influence. C’était un aumônier volontaire avec la Garde Nationale de l’Armée du Kansas et en avril1917, il a été dépêché pour aider les soldats français pendant la Première GuerreMondiale. Quand il est retourné au Kansas deux ans plus tard, il a pris le poste de médecin de campus de l’Université du Kansas, où il est resté jusqu’à sa retraite en 1937.  

À ce moment-là, il avait pu constater l’expansion internationale de son jeu, le basketball. Les Jeux olympiques de 1936 étaient un moment de fierté pour Naismith, qui est décédé le 28 novembre 1939 dans sa maison du Kansas.  

Il n’a pas pu voir la façon dont ce sport à continuer de se développer, et il aurait sûrement eu du mal à croire que le basketball ait une telle portée internationale.  En 2007la FIBA a estimé que plus de 450 millions de personnes dans le monde jouaient au basketball. Au Canada, un rapport de 2013 a affirmé que le basketball était le quatrième sport le plus populaire — tout en continuant sa progression — parmi les jeunes Canadiens.  

En 1978, Naismith a été honoré en faisant partie de la classe inaugurale du Temple de la Renommée duBasketball Canadien.